Projects

Clamshell Box #3

clam17

Well, there it is. I know I said I’d cover the final assembly in this post but it was really boring to look at and spent  loads of time under all my heaviest books. I’ll do a proper tutorial sometime, as there is a technique to getting the two halves to line properly.

Even though I knew the measurements were right, it was still a bit nerve-wracking seeing if the bible fitted after all this time and effort. It did though, woohoo! So this is what it looks like…

Reviewing the project, I think I should have doubled up the board thickness; the bible is heavy and would probably protect it from a heavier impact, but more likely, the thicker boards would create a much sturdier container – this feels a little more flimsy than I’d imagined. Like all these projects though, you live and learn…

Did you enjoy this project? Would you like to see more practical work covered here? Are there any other things you’d like to see? Let me know…
Leave a Reply

