graphics

Mmm, Vectors!

radiobigvector1

I’ve just completed this illustration of a 1980’s style radio (oh, the nostalgia!) and thought I’d share it. Go on – click on it and have a look at the bigger image; I’ll still be here when you get back.

All done in Adobe Illustrator of course, but I figure you’d already worked that one out from the title! I actually started it last year for a t-shirt design, but much simpler so it could be colour separated for screen printing. I’ve been coming back to it every now and then for a little vector therapy, and It’s probably as finished as it’s going to be.

radiotee

The original image was hacked from the web ages ago and was sat in my ‘random images’ file. I’ve since tried to find it again without success (note to self – if you are asking your students to log their sources, do it yourself!) so if anyone finds this entry and wants a credit, please get in touch.

I’m not going to do a step-by step guide – there are loads of them already on the web – but I thought I’d point out a couple of details that  think went particularly well and leave it at that. Firstly, I love the outline view on a complex vector image, and although this is not that complex, I enjoy seeing the framework of the image as well as the end result:

radiovector1

Ok, so I’ve tidied up a few bits and pieces (artistic licence!), but as this scrolls through from original – outline – preview and back it shows that the majority of the image is pretty faithfull to the original. The main areas are obviously the patch on the left and the dial on the right, both of which look ugly on the original.

radiovectorkcrop1

5 thoughts on “Mmm, Vectors!

  1. Not enough information. You say this is vector but I don’t think so. show more bigger pictures and say how you did it. cool blog though.

    1. Well Buffy, you’re going to have to take my word for it that it’s all vector – but I’ll take it as a compliment that you don’t think so. I didn’t post this as a ‘how-to’ tutorial as I had been working on it sporadically for ages, but I may do something in the future. There are quite enough good vector tutorials on the web without me doing it!

Leave a Reply

