Playlist, Uncategorized

Playlist

East West by Bill Frisell
The Southern Death Cult
by The Southern Death Cult
Dreamtime by The Cult
Peaceful, The World Lays Me Down by Noah and the Whale
Working Man’s Café by Ray Davies
Reprieve by Ani DiFranco
Invisible Fields by Iarla Ó Lionáird
Flags of the Sacred Harp and Liberation by Jackie O Motherfucker
Strjon by Arve Henriksen
Man From Another Time by Seasick Steve
Orphans: Brawlers, Bawlers & Bastards by Tom Waits
Dig, Lazarus, Dig by Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

4 thoughts on “Playlist

  1. Ah, the Cult.
    Many happy memories of people from Leeds pretending to be indians.
    I still have my ‘Fatman’ 7″ fold out sleeve in my singles collection.

    \Never really liked ‘She sells’ though.

  2. Oh yes, those post-punk years were very diffi’cult’ times for the endangered West Yorkshire Indians!

    Great bit of escapism during the Thatcher era though – but it’s never quite as good when they start to take themselves seriously…

  3. The CULT were BIG fun. One of the silliest and best bands I ever saw at Reading fest. As ROCK is inherently set up for the childish and bombastic ‘Love Removal Machine’ is almost a work of art.
    I saw the Stooges on Sunday, Iggy (63) singing ‘I’ve got my cock in my pocket’ had more gravitas than the whole of the Cults work, strangely.

    Graphically the Death Cult’s Micky / Skull was all over peoples school bags.

  4. I only saw the cult a couple of times after ‘sanctuary’ but I have seen them as Southern Death Cult and Death Cult too, – these were some of the best gigs I remember. A bit of dressing up and and pretending to be indians did wonders for kids in dreary northern towns.I’ll have to dig out the photo’s and do a rock’n’roll years style post! I had the skull on my bag too!

    Iggy has really kept it going eh? – It’s hard to imagine the likes of Justin Beiber out of his early teens, never mind in his dotage! Iggy is such a good role model for the hedonistic, drug and alcohol-fuelled rock’n’roll lifestyle, it’s a wonder why more people don’t take it up!

Leave a Reply

