linocut, Printmaking

Theatre Royal

Inspired by the header on this poster from this fabulous archive of playbills I recently cut a couple of lino blocks. I was so inspired that I neglected to record any of the cutting of the blocks and printing of the first colour! So we begin this post as I inked up for the second colour using a magenta and cadmium yellow mix:-

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I still get excited with each and every reveal! Mrs. Lestaret is happy that I have such simple pleasures…

Many of these prints were very badly registered as I had not taken as much care to set up the jig. I intend to print again with a more accurate set up as I only got ONE half decent alignment of the two colours.

This one is the most accurate print and I’d like to run off at least a dozen like this. I’ll keep you posted!

3 thoughts on “Theatre Royal

Leave a Reply

