ceramic

Glazed Over…

Regular visitors may recall this post on my collection of old boiler plates. I had made moulds from them around that time, but a number of changes to our workshops meant that they were put aside until normal service was resumed. I did actually cast a couple in white stoneware slip and these were bisque fired, but I forgot about them until they were handed to me recently!

Well, faced with some unglazed ceramic typography, the only decent thing to do was to glaze them.  This one was dipped in College Blue glaze and then wiped to allow the raised letting to become ‘reversed’ from the background colour.

This one was not cast so well but I liked the distressed feel so much I splashed over some Tenmoku and wiped off with my hand whilst it was drying. This has created a gooey, grease-like quality to the glaze, especially where it has been left thicker between the lettering…

Leave a Reply

