Letterpress, Projects

Another Step Closer

I collected my freshly welded handle from Mark last week , but was not really able to put it to much use after I tore the ligaments in my ankle. Not that I was fully out of action, but decided to take the doctor’s advice and rest it for a while.

The collar would not go back on though! After another brief session with file, the collar slipped back on – I expect that this was something to do with the welding and expansion/contraction of the metal.

This shot from underneath shows the cam in a horizontal position. So far, all attempts to turn it have been unsuccessful. The illustration below shows how the camshaft moves the lower platen:

But the proof of the pudding is in the eating, as they say. Here goes…

A few grinding slips and a great deal of WD40 and 3-in-1 oil and we are in business! I can’t tell you how excited I was over this. I know, its not very glamorous, but it pleased me no end.

Now that we have movement – it is now moving freely with little effort – I can get on with cleaning it up ready for its new colours…

5 thoughts on “Another Step Closer

  1. Heh, heh, I knew this would appeal to you at least! I have just been out and had another pull on the handle – lovely!

Leave a Reply

