Asemic

Chinese Calligraphy Workbook

I bought a number of old chinese calligraphy workbooks earlier this year. I like the asemic qualities of oriental scripts and I was curious about the physical qualities too, particularly their papers and bindings. I was moving some books this evening and rediscovered these beneath a pile of others and was reminded of their minimal elegance and sparsity of ornament.

 

I will put together another post showing the other books too, as well as the covers and bindings later this month, but for now, just enjoy…

If you are a regular visitor to this blog, you may notice something familiar about these images. I made a composite image of the background textures for the cover of my first asemic book ‘Four Fools’ more images of which can be viewed here, and the book itself can be bought here and by clicking on the link in the left hand menu.

3 thoughts on “Chinese Calligraphy Workbook

Leave a Reply

