Asemic

Chinese Calligraphy Workbooks #3

I recently posted a few images from an old chinese calligraphy workbook I bought earlier this year. I like the asemic qualities of oriental scripts and I was curious about the physical qualities too, particularly their papers and bindings. This one is bound with brown paper with a title strip pasted on. This too has seen better days, but I doubt it was intended as a high quality publication.

The stab binding is simply done with a doubled up linen thread.

This looks a lot like the one I featured last, but this is simply printed onto newsprint style paper.

I have become interested in the seals or ‘chops’  that the Chinese use to sign or authenticate their documents – I am curious as to why some are black on white and others white on black…

Leave a Reply

