Playlist

Playlist


Chet Baker Live in Bologna 
by Chet Baker
Foxlight by Iarla Ó Lionáird
Can’t Stand The Rezillos by The Rezillos
The Very Best Of by Toots & the Maytals
Couleurs sur Paris by Nouvelle Vague 
London 0 Hull 4 by The Housemartins
Dreamtime by The Cult
1897 by Seaworthy
The Prepared Piano by Hauschka
Systems/Layers by Rachel’s
Un Autre Décembre by Sylvain Chauveau
The Mix Up by The Beastie Boys

My playlists and reading lists have been a regular monthly post since I started blogging in 2009, and are probably the most personal information I include. The are occasional comments about my playlists – often from people who shared (or who have shared) similar tastes, and sometimes from people who are interested in finding different things to listen to. The playlist is not a definitive list of everything I have listened to that month, but the stuff I’ve played the most frequently or just enjoyed listening to. Selecting music to listen to is an integral part of how I work, and can influence what I do – directly and indirectly.

I used to think I had great taste in music, but as I have grown I tend to think that I just have a taste for music; I am more open and adventurous to new things, and enjoy being surprised at what I take in. So where does all this stuff come from? I use the web, I talk to people and take recommendations, but I also have a secret resource that is no longer going to be a secret; my brother has a more eclectic music collection and  even more adventurous taste, and has been a steady supply of experimental and downright weird stuff for quite a few years.

He has decided to share his passion with the world and has an excellent blog which is rapidly expanding with reviews, recommendations, links and reports and I would like to shamelessly give it a plug here:


http://somuchnoisetobeheard.blogspot.co.uk/

2 thoughts on “Playlist

  1. Chris, I’ve been enjoying your blog for a long time now and one aspect in particular I enjoy is your playlist post. I believe a persons taste in music reveals a different side of them and one can attain a better or just different understanding of a person just from their taste in music alone as well as learn something about themselves. It’s one question (one’s musical preferences) that there is no right or wrong, no great taste or poor taste; it’s completely individualistic; as well as how one interprets the music they listen to.
    If I may make a recommendation, I’ve been listening to Heartless Bastards lately and think you may enjoy them, too.
    Thank you for sharing your brother’s blog with us. I’m always looking for music, whether new or old, to listen to.

  2. Thanks Bruce, it’s good to know that this stuff is worth something when it’s out in the blogosphere. I hope you find something interesting on my brothers blog – as for me, I’m going to search for some heartless bastards. Thanks for the tip.

Leave a Reply

