linocut

I Heart Printing


I really can’t say much more than these images show. The handmade paper is really working out well on these.

But I think this also needs another colour – I would like to print onto the darker brown paper that I made from the recycled cardboard packaging, so would need to pull out the body of the heart, so I set about creating a block , just for solid colour:


I also ran off a few cards on Kraft card – these may make a nice addition to the greetings cards already for sale at The Department Of Something Else.

But it was on the brown paper I really began to enjoy this; laying down a solid block of colour onto rough, soft paper allows for a really visible impression. Then I picked up a damaged sheet of the whiter paper which is much thicker than the brown:


I know this will sound pretty lame, but I did get a bit Homer Simpson over this…


Now if you are one of the few people who do not understand this, go to Youtube and look for Homer Simpson drooling, or just listen here.

I made a very similar noise. I’m going for a shower now.

Ok then, back to work.


I’m using Caligo waterbased inks as usual, magenta and black, mixed a little darker this time as I am expecting the colour to be visibly lighter on the overprinted parts:


My registration jig worked perfectly on these – everyone a winner!


I then went onto the recycled packaging paper…


The results are great – and the white one I drooled over earlier?

I really ‘heart’ printing…

2 thoughts on “I Heart Printing

  1. Hello Aine,

    I know a few people who have not got these inks to work for them, and there are quite a few reasons why. My first response is that you are not using the right ink for monoprinting – etching inks are made to be much slower drying and are perfect for monoprints. Secondly, one of the things that might be affecting the drying is the atmospheric conditions – these are water-based inks remember, and so they dry by evaporation. If you are printing in a warm, airy place, then the ink will dry much, much quicker. I print in my garage, which is cool all year round (perishing in winter!) but there is still a noticeable difference in drying time between the seasons – the prints I have just made will be dry in the morning, but in winter they may take up to two weeks!
    You could try a drop of water – a light spray misting over the inked plate, then re-rolling – that may help. I have not tried this before so I can’t say with any certainty. Although I used water based ink for relief printing, I still use oil-based etching inks for intaglio and monoprints.

    I hope this helps – let me know how you get on…

    Chris

Leave a Reply

