Design

An Update

Hello. I haven’t been blogging properly recently. I’ve been uploading images and posting stuff prepared a while ago. You have probably noticed. Sorry for the drop in the general content here, but I have excuses.

I had originally planned a summer of projects including screen printing and woodcut printing, and had intended to get my restoration project press up to a finished working state. Alas, I have done none of this.

I aimed to produce a letterpress mailout pack that hopefully would become a much sought after, limited edition piece of collectors ephemera.

I planned to create my first large scale asemic artwork that I promised for my brother at least two years ago.

I think you get the picture. I even used Comic Sans to make my point.

This has not been the summer I had planned, or indeed, would want to experience again. As a graphic designer I am primarily concerned with communication, and how things looks and behave. I have reason to thank those designers whose primary concern is making things work. Not terribly glamorous stuff, and more often than not, the stuff that we take for granted and never really think about. Like seat belts, crumple zones and airbags.

I have always been a fan of classic cars, and love those that are pioneers or icons of style, before the health and safety brigade made everything so damn complicated. And ugly.

Just take a look at these two steering wheels from way back when. The one on the left is from a Ford Mustang and the a late 1960’s Citroen DS on the right:

Beautiful, elegant and pure. And bloody dangerous.

And just look at their modern counterparts:

Bloated and ugly. And exceptionally necessary.

This is not an insightful, well considered post, fully researched and with an end result that can be added to a Pinterest page, or has an interesting ‘reveal’ at the end.

Cars have become much safer places to be in if you happen to find yourself in a collision. I’m just glad that Mrs. Lestaret was driving a modern, ugly and safe car recently. As well as thanking the police, paramedics and fire crews that attended the scene, I’d also like to thank all those designers who spend countless hours making sure stuff works.

Thankyou, thankyou, thankyou.

Thanks to them, normal service will definitely be resumed, pretty soon.

Oh, and drive safely, bloggerinos…

4 thoughts on “An Update

  1. This all sounds poetic but bloody awful just the same. Hope the Mrs L is OK and send her our best wishes. At the R-K Towers Mrs R-K is typing this with her left leg up in the air ? having had a big toe joint fusion yesterday. Out of the driving seat and the saddle for a while unfortunately. Take care all you Lestarets. x

    > —

Leave a Reply

