Artists Books

Artists Book Exchange #4

LESTARET-bio-pp-2
Once all the pages had been completed and printed, the next stage of assembly could begin. This included trimming and folding first, then came the tipping-in of the additional parts. This was a time consuming and repetitive task that required a production line approach in order to keep track of everything!

LESTARET-pp11
I then retrieved the covers I made  a while back. These have been stored under light pressure, out of the way of the younger Lestarets and the dog, who can usually find the most important items to slobber on or chew.This was the reason I made the paste papers – to use as endpapers on this project! These were carefully creased and folded prior to the next stage.

LESTARET-bio-pp-3
The image above shows a stack of assembled innards opposite their folded covers. In-between stands my working copy – I always make one up first to check everything is right and make final decisions on the sewing.

LESTARET-bio-pp-4
The innards an covers required stations piercing to guide the sewing. This was done using my home-made pricking cradle and a card template with a bookbinding awl. I used a red linen thread and left about half an inch spare after the tie off:

LESTARET-bio-pp-6
The books were then secured with a paper bellyband – I like this as it keeps everything flat and tidy until the seal is broken!

LESTARET-bio-pp-8
But the project doesn’t end with the books having been completed. This is a book exchange after all, so all the books were wrapped in sturdy brown parcel paper…

LESTARET-bio-pp-36
And I couldn’t help myself with all that blank space! I broke out the old mathematical rubber stamp…

LESTARET-bio-pp-37
And labelled each envelope with the project number 3.0#12 before carefully copying the postal details of each of the recipients…

LESTARET-bio-pp-38
There are four destined for the UK, two bound for Australia, one for South Africa, one to Germany and one to Latvia. Yes, I know there are only nine – I am the tenth member of the group!

4 thoughts on “Artists Book Exchange #4

    1. Thank you Trevor. Yes there is. These projects are always labours of love. I like to think that I approach all of these types of project with a sense of personal investment. It’s a far cry from the commercial world and helps to balance some of the shallower aspects of the graphics business. It also keeps me from “getting up myself” as we northerners say occasionally!

Leave a Reply

