Design

Sleevage Sunday! #11

LESTARET-creatures-1 LESTARET-creatures-2 LESTARET-creatures-3 LESTARET-creatures-4 LESTARET-creatures-5 LESTARET-creatures-6

Complete with yellowed sticky tape…

cassetteSleevage Sunday is where I share selections from my old but recently rediscovered vinyl collection. Music has always been an important part of my life, but so was the packaging. In my formative years I would carefully study every inch of the cover, read every sleevenote, credit and publishing blurb so that the visual qualities of these records became intrinsically linked with the music, so that even now when I hear an old song I also get the imagery too! Alas, much of this will fall upon younger heads whose only visual link with their music is the tiny thumbnail on their iPod…

I am not judging any of these covers – some are great, some are really bad, and others just are. These are simply the images of my youth.

3 thoughts on “Sleevage Sunday! #11

  1. Ah! The tape. Don’t you think that there’s some sort of sorcery at work in sticky tape? It is clear when applied, and one never sees it turn yellow….

  2. I remember buying this at some ropey old record shop in Northampton I think (in the mid eighties), it seemed wonderfully risque to my 15 year old self…

    Re: tape turning yellow. I have books and magazines, that are tinged with the yellow substance, I think of it as sergeants stripes or something, a marker that something is so valuable, you wish to protect it from the natural disintegration of ephemera.

Leave a Reply

