Artists Books

More Booky Delights

LESTARET-NS-4a
For those who have just stumbled upon this blog, my friend Nick and I have been challenging each other to creatively respond to a single sentence that the other submits (the sentences are taken from any source) in the form of a 10x10cm ‘booky’ type format.  I was a bit naughty this time. For this one, I gave him the sentence “No words were needed.”
LESTARET-NS-4b
LESTARET-NS-4c
Nick, as ever, excelled himself with this mammoth 19 panel concertina…
LESTARET-NS-4d
The only way to show this is at full size so I created a composite of its entirety this time – click the image below and fiddle with the magnification as it may shrink it to fit on screen. Remember that each panel measures 10x10cm.
LESTARET-NS-4e
This is a beautifully cinematic sequence of how the morning light appears and moves across a room in his house. Side scrolling the image really enhances the effect!
LESTARET-NS-4f
Simple and elegant.

And my response to Nicks given sentence was a result of several mid-stage redesigns! I had originally intended this one to be constructed and bound differently, but I was thwarted by technical issues at each stage. I am still happy with the idea, but rather frustrated by how difficult it was to arrive at this seemingly simple result.

LESTARET-QB57 LESTARET-QB58 LESTARET-QB59 LESTARET-QB60 LESTARET-QB61 LESTARET-QB62
These are all examples of manuscripts by respected writers, on waxed paper set into card windows, a bit like slides.
LESTARET-QB64 LESTARET-QB63 LESTARET-QB65

5 thoughts on “More Booky Delights

  1. Nick’s book is just stunning, I see what you meant when you were trying to explain it to me at the weekend. Mind you, your effort is stunning too as ever Mr Lestaret, I’ve spent quite a bit of time with my copy and it’s a gorgeous, uniquely tactile and very fragile object. I’m loving this exchange between Nick and your good self, can’t wait to see where it goes next.

Leave a Reply

