Artists Books, Projects, Uncategorized

Xylotheque #8

LESTARET-xylotheque-47

Making a spine compartment means that I need to cut some more wood. This is 3mm thick stuff from the craft shop that can be cut with a knife and just needs a little sanding to bring it to life…

LESTARET-xylotheque-48

The side pieces were glued into place using spacers made from paper laminate in order to allow the covers to close properly. Had I thought about this earlier on I probably would wave designed something a little more elegant, but I’m liking the general aesthetic of the ‘cobbled together’ approach…

LESTARET-xylotheque-49

Meanwhile, I set about making some sort of knob using the same paper laminating technique used for the closure peg, but this time wrapping it tightly around a leather thong.

LESTARET-xylotheque-50

and cutting it down to size when dry. Again, a little sanding brings it to a more satisfying shape.

LESTARET-xylotheque-51

I also cut a couple of top pieces to frame the lid and got on with shaping and dressing the knob.

LESTARET-xylotheque-52LESTARET-xylotheque-53

In order to secure the leather thong I cut a groove on the back so that I could glue it into a recess…

LESTARET-xylotheque-54LESTARET-xylotheque-55

Whilst the glue was drying on the thong I mixed up another batch of black goo and gave all the new pieces a good slop. I did the same to the lid shortly afterwards, and sanded everything back to match the overall ‘patina.’

LESTARET-xylotheque-56LESTARET-xylotheque-57LESTARET-xylotheque-58

And there it is. I’m still deciding on the contents and still need to finish the runes on the front, so there will be more to come…

3 thoughts on “Xylotheque #8

  1. I wouldn’t worry about having to use the spacers: there is a consistent aesthetic which I rather like. Something about “making do’, like home-made wooden toys made from scrap lumber.

Leave a Reply

